The Generic Pharmaceutical Association (GPhA) has elected members of its 2011 executive committee and board of directors.

Generic Pharmaceutical Association, GPhA, 2011 executive committee board of directors, executive committe, Paul Bisaro, Tony Mauro, Craig Wheeler, Debra Barrett, Doug Boothe, Don DeGolyer, David Klaum, Bob Billings, generic drug industry, pharmaceuticals

Other Services
Reprints / E-Prints
Submit News
White Papers

Retail News Breaks Archives

GPhA sets 2011 executive committee, board

February 22nd, 2011

ORLANDO, Fla. – The Generic Pharmaceutical Association (GPhA) has elected members of its 2011 executive committee and board of directors.

GPhA said late last week that Paul Bisaro, president and chief executive officer of Watson Pharmaceuticals Inc., has been re-elected as chairman for a second one-year term. In addition, GPhA members elected Tony Mauro, president of Mylan Pharmaceuticals, as vice chairman, and Craig Wheeler, president of Momenta Pharmaceuticals Inc., as secretary treasurer.

The 2011 GPhA executive committee includes Bisaro, Mauro and Wheeler along with board members Debra Barrett, senior vice president of government affairs at Teva Pharmaceuticals USA; Doug Boothe, president and CEO of Actavis Inc.; Don DeGolyer, president and CEO of Sandoz Inc.; and David Klaum, senior vice president and general manager at Fougera.

The generic drug industry group noted that the elections mark the first board of directors to be installed after a restructuring of the association's governance in 2010, which reduced the size of its board to 12 members.

"We enter 2011 as a stronger organization, with renewed vigor, a sharper focus and an appreciation of the power that a single, unified voice can have," Bisaro said in a statement. "Equally as important, we start 2011 with the resources — financial, intellectual and structural — to get the job done. We have a clear vision of the issues where we must lead, and we have a shared understanding that together we will forge an exciting future."

Commented GPhA interim executive director Bob Billings, "We are extremely grateful for the support and leadership of the 2010 executive committee and board of directors and are anxious to execute our 2011 strategic plan under the guidance of our new board."

Other board members include Chuck Caprariello, vice president of corporate communications and government affairs for Ranbaxy Inc.; Patrick LePore, president and CEO of Par Pharmaceutical Inc.; Tom Murphy, president and CEO of Ben Venue Laboratories Inc.; Joseph Renner, president and CEO of Zydus Pharmaceuticals USA Inc.; and Tom Silberg, consultant to the president and CEO at APP Pharmaceuticals.