Mindy Smith has been appointed executive director at the American Pharmacists Association Foundation.

American Pharmacists Association Foundation, APhA Foundation, Mindy Smith, executive director, Arizona Pharmacy Alliance, AzPA, Elizabeth Keyes, Dennis Helling, APhA Foundation board, pharmacy associations, pharmacist, Wyoming Pharmacy Association

Other Services
Reprints / E-Prints
Submit News
White Papers

Retail News Breaks Archives

New exec director named at APhA Foundation

May 18th, 2011

WASHINGTON – Mindy Smith has been appointed executive director at the American Pharmacists Association Foundation.

The American Pharmacists Association (APhA) said Tuesday that Smith joins the foundation from the Arizona Pharmacy Alliance (AzPA), where she was chief executive officer.

Plans call for Smith to start at the APhA Foundation later this summer. Interim executive director Elizabeth Keyes, chief operating officer of APhA, will continue to work with Smith and the foundation to ensure a smooth transition, according to the association.

As executive director of the APhA Foundation, Smith will lead the foundation's operations, research objectives and strategic direction, provide support and guidance to the board of directors and track pharmacy trends.

"The APhA Foundation is excited to welcome Mindy and have her join us," Dennis Helling, president of the APhA Foundation board, said in a statement. "Her commitment to the advancement of the profession is evident in her dedicated service to pharmacy and enthusiasm for her work. She has served as the leader of two pharmacy associations and is a passionate political advocate. Mindy is a wonderful addition to the APhA Foundation team, due to her experience, talent, expertise and belief that all pharmacists should be empowered with the tools they need to positively impact health."

As CEO of AzPA, Smith serves as the executive head of the association and provides leadership for all of its activities, including administrative oversight of the Arizona Pharmacy Foundation. She also oversees an AzPA for-profit subsidiary, the Pharmacy Network of Arizona, and the Pharmacists Political Action Committee of Arizona.

Before AzPA, she was executive director of the Wyoming Pharmacy Association. And earlier, as a hospital pharmacist, she co-directed a pharmacist-operated anticoagulation clinic and was authorized to prescribe medications under a collaborative practice agreement with a physician.