Albertsons, Safeway name executive team

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

BOISE, Idaho — AB Acquisition LLC (Albertsons) and Safeway Inc. have chosen the leadership team that will head the combined supermarket company when its planned merger is completed.

“We’re drawing on the strong talent within both companies to build an innovative, customer-focused and growth-driven company,” said Safeway president and chief executive officer Robert Edwards, who will serve as the combined company’s president and CEO.

The new team includes: Bob Gordon as executive vice president and general counsel; Shane Sampson as executive VP of marketing and merchandising; Andy Scoggin as executive VP of human resources, labor relations, public affairs and government affairs; Jerry Tidwell as executive VP of supply chain and manufacturing; Lee Wilson as executive VP and chief administrative officer; Bob Dimond as executive VP and chief financial officer; Justin Ewing as executive VP of corporate development and real estate; and Barry Libenson as interim executive VP and chief information officer.

Dimon, Ewing and Libenson report to Wilson. Libenson is due to remain with the combined company through March 25, 2015, when a replacement will be named.

Also named to leadership positions with the combined company are Wayne Denningham, Justin Dye and Kelly Griffith, each of whom will serve as regional executive VP and chief operating officer. The new company will be comprised of three regions; Denningham will head the South region, Dye will head the East region and Griffin will head the North region.

There will also be 14 retail divisions within those regions. The division presidents in the North region will Dennis Bassler (Portland Division) Paul McTavish (Denver Division) Susan Morris (Intermountain Division) Tom Schwilke (Northern California Division) and Dan Valenzuela (Seattle Division).

In the South region, the divisional presidents will be Shane Dorcheus (Southwest Division), Scott Hayes (Southern Division) Sidney Hopper (Houston Division), Lori Raya (Southern California Division) and Robert Taylor (United Division).

In the East region, the divisional presidents will be Steve Burnham (Eastern Division), Jim Perkins (Acme Division), Jim Rice (Shaw’s Division) and Mike Withers, (Jewel-Osco ­Division).

“Our teams will focus on delivering what customers want locally, and we will give our store teams more flexibility to make decisions that are right for their neighborhoods,” said Albertsons CEO Bob Miller, who will become executive chairman of the combined company. The division teams will have the responsibility to have the right assortment for their markets.”



Comments are closed.