Lupin 2024

Cardinal Health’s Giacomin elected HDA chairman

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

ARLINGTON, Va. — Jon Giacomin, chief executive officer of the pharmaceutical segment at Cardinal Health Inc., has been elected as chairman of the Healthcare Distribution Alliance (HDA) board of directors.


Jon Giacomin

Giacomin, who has been vice chairman since November 2014, was voted chairman at HDA’s annual board and membership meeting. He takes the reins from Ted Scherr, president and CEO of Dakota Drug Inc., who was elected chairman in September 2014 and remains a member of the HDA Executive Committee.

“During his two years as chairman, he helped lead us through the launch of our new brand identity, the passage of S. 483 and an increased global presence, and leaves us well-positioned for the future,” HDA president and CEO John Gray said in a statement.

Henry Dale Smith Jr., chairman and CEO of H.D. Smith Holding Co., has been named vice chairman. HDA noted that Smith recently was honored with the Nexus Award for Lifetime Achievement, the pharmaceutical distribution industry’s highest honor.

“I look forward to working closely with Jon and Dale as they assume their new leadership positions,” Gray stated. “Together with our board of directors, we will continue to support the important work of our members based on our core values of collaboration and supply chain leadership.”

HDA also named Maria Burns, vice president of Burlington Drug Co., and Greg Drew, president of Value Drug Co., to its Executive Committee.

Joining the HDA board of directors are Michael Faul, president and CEO of Miami-Luken Inc.; Jeff Foreman, president of Smith Drug Co. (J.M. Smith Corp.); Hal Harrison, CEO of Mutual Wholesale Drug Co.; David MacFarlane, CEO of Seacoast Medical LLC; and Keith Patek, vice president of corporate strategy and development at Prodigy Health Supplier Corp.


Comments are closed.