PP_1170x120_10-25-21

Hy-Vee promotes three executives

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

WEST DES MOINES, Iowa — Three Hy-Vee executives have been promoted to new roles, the company announced on Friday. Jeremy Gosch has been named president and chief operating officer, Aaron Wiese has been promoted to vice chairman and president of Hy-Vee supply chain/subsidiaries, and Andy Schreiner has been named senior vice president, chief financial officer and treasurer.

Randy Edeker

The elevation of the three executives was announced at Hy-Vee’s Annual Stockholders Meeting, when the company also recognized the retirement of Jay Marshall, who spent 39 years with Hy-Vee and had been serving as vice chairman and president of Hy-Vee supply chain/subsidiaries, and Mike Skokan, who spent 35 years with the company and had been senior vice president, chief financial officer and treasurer.

“Both Jay and Mike have been trusted leaders of our executive team for many years, and I could not be more thankful for the contributions they have made to our great company,” said Hy-Vee chairman and CEO Randy Edeker said.

Jay Marshall

Marshall’s Hy-Vee career began in 1982 at the Des Moines, Iowa, Save U More, which was a former brand owned and operated by Hy-Vee. He held many retail store operations and management positions within Hy-Vee, and in 2006 he was promoted to assistant vice president, operations, northwestern district. In 2008, he moved into the corporate office as vice president of center store and over the next several years was elevated to lead different areas of the company. In 2018, Marshall moved into the role of executive vice president, co-chief operating officer, and president, Hy-Vee subsidiaries/commissaries, and was elevated to the role of vice chairman in January 2020. Marshall was inducted in the Hy-Vee Hall of Fame in 2004 and 2021 for his leadership, and was recognized with the Chairman’s Humanitarian Award at Hy-Vee.

Mike Skokan

Skokan’s Hy-Vee career began in 1986 at the Grand Avenue Hy-Vee in West Des Moines, Iowa, as a part-time courtesy clerk and checker/stocker. He worked off and on at the store while in college, as well as at the Cedar Falls, Iowa, store. In 1993, Skokan joined the Hy-Vee executive staff as an internal auditor. Over the years he was promoted to various roles within the accounting department, and in 2011 was named senior vice president, chief financial officer, treasurer and was named a permanent member of the Hy-Vee Board of Directors, and joined the Hy-Vee Executive Committee. In 2013, Skokan was elected to executive vice president, chief financial officer, treasurer. He too was inducted into the Hy-Vee Hall of Fame in 2015 and 2021 for his leadership.

 

Aaron Wiese

Aaron WieseWiese, who is succeeding Marshall as vice chairman of Hy-Vee, Inc. and president of Hy-Vee supply chain/subsidiaries, started his Hy-Vee career in 1993 while in college. After graduating, he served in various operations leadership roles. In 2012, Wiese joined Hy-Vee’s executive staff as director, real estate strategic planning, and in 2013 became director, health/wellness strategic planning. In 2014, he was promoted to assistant vice president, specialty pharmacy, and then vice president, business development, at Amber Specialty Pharmacy. Over the next six years, Wiese was instrumental in leading multiple facets of Hy-Vee’s health and wellness division, as well as serving as president of Hy-Vee subsidiary Amber Specialty Pharmacy for several years. He was promoted to the executive vice president level in December 2020, and became president of digital growth and co-chief operating officer in April 2021.

“Aaron is poised and ready to assume this important position to help me lead the company as vice chairman of Hy-Vee’s Board of Directors,” Edeker said. “He has a strong vision for the total breadth of our company and is extremely knowledgeable in many areas, including health care and digital development and growth. With Aaron helping me guide the company, we are positioned for continued growth and innovation.”

Andy Schreiner

Schreiner, who is taking on Skokan’s role as senior vice president, chief financial officer and treasurer, began his career with Hy-Vee at the South Ottumwa Hy-Vee store in Ottumwa, Iowa, as a part-time clerk in 1995. He continued to work at South Ottumwa until he moved into Hy-Vee’s corporate office as an accounting intern in 1999. Following his graduation from the University of Northern Iowa in 2000, Schreiner was selected as an internal auditor and joined the Hy-Vee executive staff in 2001. In 2004, he was promoted to assistant director, auditing services followed by a promotion in the accounting department as financial reporting supervisor in 2006. He continued to work in various leadership roles in the financial reporting department, and in 2015 was named vice president of accounting and then later, chief accounting officer. He was inducted into the Hy-Vee Hall of Fame in 2008.

“The role of Hy-Vee’s chief financial officer has evolved over the past decade, and truly is integrated into every aspect of what we do as a company,” Edeker said. “Andy is incredibly smart, and his strategic thinking and accounting expertise will play a huge role as our company continues to expand and innovate.”

Gosch, who has been promoted to president and chief operating office, began his Hy-Vee career as a part-time clerk at the Lantern Park Plaza Hy-Vee in Coralville, Iowa, in 1995, and spent the next 12 years moving into retail operations management roles, including that of store director at multiple locations. In 2012, he joined Hy-Vee’s executive staff when he was promoted to assistant vice president, operations, northeast region. Over the next six years, he held several executive leadership roles and in early 2018, he was promoted to executive vice president, co-chief operating officer, chief marketing officer, and later that year he transitioned into chief operating officer. In April 2021, Gosch became president, retail operations and co-chief operating officer.

Jeremy Gosch

“One of my greatest responsibilities is to select the right leaders for our future, and I am confident Jeremy is that leader,” Edeker said. “Jeremy has a strong knowledge of our business and our unique company, and he is excellent at implementing our vision and has a strong sense of urgency to meet the challenging times we live in today. He has a great understanding of how we need to continue to evolve our company to grow, which will keep us on a path toward continued success.”

 

 


EMC_728x90

ECRM_728x90_05-03-22

Comments are closed.