Sharlea Leatherwood Memorial Trailblazer Awardee is the Independent Community Pharmacist

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

KANSAS CITY, Mo.  – Independent Community Pharmacists collectively have been named the 2022 awardee of the NCPA Foundation’s Sharlea Leatherwood Memorial Trailblazer Award for innovating and implementing outstanding care throughout the COVID-19 pandemic. The Trailblazer Award recognizes those whose pharmacy practice blazes a trail for other independent pharmacy owners and future generations of independent pharmacy owners. The award is in recognition of Sharlea Leatherwood, former president of the National Community Pharmacists Association and the NCPA Foundation.

“Independent pharmacists and their teams have used their skills and wisdom well throughout the COVID-19 pandemic,” said Jerry Shapiro, PharmD, president of the NCPA Foundation Board of Trustees. “They proved that they are as essential as they are nimble, stepping up with creative ideas to continue providing much-needed care to their communities. Whether working around the clock, growing or initiating drive-thru, delivery or curbside service, compounding hand sanitizer for first responders and patients when it was in short supply, providing testing and vaccines, or any number of other tactics, they were steadfast throughout a tumultuous time. With the Trailblazer Award, the NCPA Foundation trustees and I applaud and thank Independent Community Pharmacists for their efforts.”


Adheris Health

Comments are closed.

Adheris Health