Lupin 2023

Merlo elected NACDS chairman, Wasson as treasurer

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

PALM BEACH, Fla. — The National Association of Chain Drug Stores elected CVS/pharmacy president Larry Merlo as NACDS chairman and named new officers, a new Executive Committee member and three new board members at the 2010 NACDS Annual Meeting.

Merlo, who also is executive vice president at CVS Caremark Corp., previously served as vice chairman and succeeds Andy Giancamilli, chief executive officer of Rexall Pharma Plus, in the chairman’s role at the association.

In addition, Robert Loeffler, chief administrative officer at H.E. Butt Grocery Co., was elected as NACDS vice chairman, and Greg Wasson, president and chief executive officer of Walgreen Co., was elected treasurer, NACDS said Monday.

"I congratulate Larry Merlo on his election as NACDS chairman of the board," NACDS president and CEO Steve Anderson said in a statement. "Larry’s passion for the value of pharmacy and for this entire industry will fuel NACDS’ continued advancement. He already has contributed so much to NACDS as an officer and as a member of the board of directors, and it will be great to work with him in this new capacity."

Also at the Annual Meeting, NACDS members also elected a new Executive Committee member, Craig Painter, chairman and CEO of Kinney Drugs, as well as three new board members: John Agwunobi, senior vice president at Wal-Mart Stores Inc. and president of its health and wellness business unit; Christopher Dimos, president of pharmacy operations at Supervalu Inc.; and Robert Narveson, president and CEO of Thrifty White Stores.


Comments are closed.