NACDS Foundation announces 2022-2023 Faculty Scholars

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

At the NACDS Total Store Expo in Boston, MA, in August 2022, current and past NACDS Foundation Faculty Scholars and mentors met in-person for discussion and collaboration.

ARLINGTON, Va. – The National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Foundation today announced the participants for the 2022-2023 Faculty Scholars Program. Six faculty members from schools and colleges of pharmacy nationwide have been selected as members of this year’s class to participate in the 18-month research mentorship program.

Experienced community-based researchers from the University of Pittsburgh and the University of Iowa will serve as program facilitators.

“We are thrilled to welcome this year’s talented cohort,” said NACDS Foundation President Sara Roszak. “Each year, through the program, Faculty Scholars have the opportunity to grow their research skills while developing community-based, patient-centered research ideas from concept to manuscript. We look forward to the meaningful contributions they will make in advancing public health for all.”

Although the program officially began in January 2022, the scholars each recently received a starter grant in the amount of $5,000 to spearhead their patient-focused research projects.

The professors of pharmacy selected to participate are:

  • Dr. Amanda C. Savage, PharmD, University of North Carolina Eshelman School of Pharmacy – Asheville Campus
  • Dr. Jayme Steig, PharmD, North Dakota State University School of Pharmacy
  • Dr. Courtney Gamston, PharmD, Auburn University, Harrison College of Pharmacy
  • Dr. Jason Varin, PharmD, University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy
  • Dr. Danielle M. Kieck, PharmD, Wilkes University, Nesbitt School of Pharmacy
  • Dr. Lorin Fisher, PharmD, University of Iowa College of Pharmacy

The NACDS Foundation Faculty Scholars program offers faculty at U.S. schools and colleges of pharmacy the opportunity to engage in community pharmacy-based, patient-centered research. Through their participation, scholars will benefit from frequent mentor meetings, small cohort working groups and an online lecture series. In its 10th year, the program has served seven cohorts of faculty.

To date, 43 scholars have participated in the program. Each of the prior scholars has developed an initial research project and presented their findings at several American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Annual Meetings.

More information about the NACDS Foundation is available on its website.


Adheris Health

Comments are closed.

Adheris Health