NACDS names new officers, board members

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

PALM BEACH, Fla. — At its Annual Meeting this weekend, the National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) elected new officers, four new Executive Committee members and five new board members for the 2015-16 term.

NACDS 2015 chairman gavel exchange

New NACDS chairman Randy Edeker (right) accepts the gavel from outgoing chairman John Standley.

Randy Edeker, chairman, president and chief executive officer of Hy-Vee Inc. has been elected as the new NACDS chairman, taking over from John Standley, chairman and CEO of Rite Aid Corp.

In addition, Martin Otto, chief merchant and chief financial officer of H-E-B, was elected vice chairman, and J.K. Symancyk, president of Meijer Inc., was elected treasurer.

Each officer will serve a one-year term.

“I congratulate Randy Edeker on his election as NACDS chairman of the board of directors,” NACDS president and CEO Steve Anderson.  “During his service on the Executive Committee, Randy’s leadership helped drive NACDS’ activities on key industry issues and policies. His extraordinary leadership at Hy-Vee has driven continued success and further illustrates his commitment to the industry.  We look forward to working with him in his new role with NACDS in the coming year.”

The new Executive Committee members elected by the NACDS board are H-E-B’s Otto, Meijer’s Symancyk and Labeed Diab, president of health and wellness at Walmart, and Alex Gourlay, president of Walgreens.

Also, five new board members were elected to serve three-year terms: Richard Ashworth, president of pharmacy and retail operations at Walgreens; Helena Foulkes, president of CVS/pharmacy and executive vice president at CVS Health; Jon Giacomin, CEO of the pharmaceutical segment at Medicine Shoppe International; David Neu, president, Good Neighbor Pharmacy; Walgreens’ Gourlay. The new board members will join the 19 members of the board to develop NACDS’ policies and priorities.



Comments are closed.