PQA appoints 2019 board and executive committee

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
ALEXANDRIA, Va.  – The Pharmacy Quality Alliance (PQA) board of directors approved its 2019 executive committee and appointed four new members to the 23-member board during its fourth quarter meeting. The appointments are effective January 1.

Laura Cranston

“PQA’s Board represents a diverse group of thought leaders and experts in healthcare, who understand how medication optimization improves patient outcomes and supports a value-based care system,” Laura Cranston, PQA chief executive officer, said. “Covering the healthcare spectrum, their expertise will help us advance the safe and appropriate use of medicines.”

David Medvedeff, CEO of Aspen RxHealth, will serve as PQA’s board chair in 2019. A nationally recognized leader and innovator in pharmacy, Dr. Medvedeff has been involved in PQA’s work since its founding. He succeeds Mary Ann Kliethermes, vice chair and professor at the Chicago College of Pharmacy, Midwestern University, who will remain on the board’s executive committee as Immediate past chair.

“There are seismic shifts occurring in our healthcare system that are redefining the care process with a keen focus on driving value,” Medvedeff said, in accepting his role as chair. “Fundamentally value is determined by quality over cost, and PQA exists to define quality in medication use. I am humbled to work with incredibly talented people at PQA, both staff and engaged members, to create and disseminate thoughtful measures that stand to profoundly impact patient outcomes.”

PQA Board appointments, including its Executive Committee, represent the breadth and diversity of PQA’s multi-stakeholder membership. In addition to Drs. Medvedeff and Kliethermes, the 2019 executive committee includes:

Jamie Chan, senior director, Medicare Stars Program, Blue Shield of California (vice chair)

Jerry Penso, president and CEO, AMGA (secretary)

Anne Burns, vice president, professional affairs, American Pharmacists Association (treasurer)

Mitch Betses, executive vice president, CVS Health (member at large)

Laura Cranston, CEO, Pharmacy Quality Alliance

The new board appointments for 2019 are:

Vikki Ahern, senior vice president and plan president of Medicare Part D, Magellan Rx Management

Lou Dallago, vice president, US Trade Group, Pfizer, Inc.

Michael Duteau, vice president of Business Development and Strategic Affairs, KPH Healthcare Services, Inc.

Rick Gates, senior vice president, pharmacy and healthcare, Walgreens Boots Alliance

Twelve individuals will continue their Board service in 2019:

Mike Anderson, chief pharmacy officer, United Healthcare

Alan Balch, CEO, Patient Advocate Foundation

Christie Boutte, senior director, Federal and State Public Policy, National Association of Chain Drug Stores

Susan Cantrell, CEO, Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy

Ronna Hauser, vice president, Pharmacy Affairs, National Community Pharmacists Association

Sharon Jhawar, chief pharmacy officer, SCAN Health Plan

Jeffrey Kelman, chief medical officer, Center for Medicare at the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Bhavesh Modi, Vice President, Pharmacy, Healthfirst

Victor Perini, vice president, sales and account management, Accredo Health

Cynthia Pigg, vice president, Managed Care and Business Development, Cardinal Health

Jason Spangler, executive director, Value, Quality, and Medical Policy, Amgen

Troy Trygstad, vice president, pharmacy programs, community Care of North Carolina



Comments are closed.