ACPE elects new officers, announces new board members

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

CHICAGO – The Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) announced that Lori Duke, Anthony Provenzano, and Michael Moné have been elected as members of the ACPE executive committee for the 2019–2020 term of office. Elections were held during the ACPE board of directors meeting, January 17–18, 2019, here.

Front left to right: Anthony Provenzano, Lori Duke and Michael Moné 

• Lori Duke was elected as president of ACPE. Dr. Duke is the assistant dean in the Division of Experience Programs at the University of Georgia College of Pharmacy. She has held numerous leadership positions in the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (AACP), including completion of the Academic Leadership Fellow Program. AACP appointed Dr. Duke to the ACPE Board, and she has previously served as vice president and board liaison to the International Commission and the CPE Commission.
•  Anthony Provenzano was elected as vice president of ACPE. Dr. Provenzano is the vice president of pharmacy compliance and government affairs for Albertsons Cos. He has served on numerous pharmacy association advisory panels and currently serves on the National Association of Chain Drug Stores Policy Council, as well as two colleges of pharmacy dean’s advisory boards. The American Pharmacists Association appointed Dr. Provenzano to the ACPE Board. He has previously served as ACPE secretary/treasurer and board liaison to the Pharmacy Technician Accreditation Commission (PTAC) and the Continuing Pharmacy Education (CPE) Commission.
•  Michael A. Moné was elected as secretary/treasurer of ACPE. He is vice president Anti-Diversion & Supply Chain Integrity and senior regulatory counsel at Cardinal Health. Moné was appointed to the ACPE Board by the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy. He has previously served on the ACPE Executive Committee in several capacities including president and board liaison to the Pharmacy Technician Accreditation Commission (PTAC).
 “ACPE would like to thank John Clay Kirtley, for his commitment to the ACPE executive committee over the past 2 years, having served in the capacities of president and vice president,” said the organization in a statement.
 ACPE also announces the appointment of two members to the ACPE board of directors following the January ACPE board of directors meeting.

Dr. Gregory Gruener and Dr. Amy Seybert.

•  Dr. Gregory Gruener is the vice dean for Education at Loyola’s Stritch School of Medicine in Maywood, Ill. He is a neurology professor at Loyola, as well as a Leischner and adjunct professor at the Stritch School of Medicine. Additionally, Dr. Gruener serves as an ambassador member of the Institute for Transformative Interprofessional Education (I-TIE), Loyola University Chicago. The American Council on Education appointed Dr. Gruener to serve on the board through June 2022. 
•  Dr. Amy Seybert is an associate professor and the chair of the department of Pharmacy and Therapeutics at the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy. She is also the pharmacy residency administrator at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC) and the University of Pittsburgh where she oversees clinical pharmacy faculty services at UPMC’s flagship hospital and its affiliates. Furthermore, Dr. Seybert designed a cardiovascular specialty residency and advanced innovative learning technologies through human patient simulation. The American Pharmacists Association appointed Dr. Seybert to serve on the board through June 2022. 
“ACPE congratulates the newly elected members of the ACPE executive committee and looks forward to the insights and experiences Dr. Gruener and Dr. Seybert will contribute to the board. We are grateful for the engagement of such strong leaders in the profession to support ACPE in promoting and assuring excellence in educational opportunities within the pharmacy profession,” expressed Peter Vlasses, executive director of ACPE.


Adheris Health

Comments are closed.

Adheris Health