NACDS names 2022-2023 officers, welcomes new members to board and executive committee

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Brian Nightengale speaks here in his capacity as NACDS vice chair and as chair of the NACDS Political Action Committee. Nightengale was elected as NACDS chair of the board, and will accept the gavel on Tuesday morning.

PALM BEACH, Fla. – During the National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Annual Meeting, NACDS elected new officers, two new executive committee members and three newly elected board of directors members for the coming year. Additionally, NACDS re-elected nine board of directors members whose terms were set to expire.

Brian Nightengale, president, Good Neighbor Pharmacy, will serve as the new chair of the NACDS board of directors, succeeding Colleen Lindholz, president, Kroger Health, The Kroger Co., who completed her term and who will remain on the NACDS board of directors.

In addition, Andre Persaud, executive vice president and chief retail officer, Rite Aid Corporation, was elected NACDS vice chair, and Mike Wysong, chief executive officer, CARE Pharmacies Cooperative, Inc., was elected NACDS treasurer. Each officer will serve a one-year term.

Persaud and Wysong were also newly elected to the NACDS Executive Committee.

“Brian Nightengale has engaged vigorously as a member of the NACDS board of directors on issues at the heart of our pro-patient, pro-pharmacy agenda,” said NACDS president and CEO Steven Anderson.“Particularly on issues related to reimbursement, he has helped to shape consensus on complicated topics that are highly consequential to the entire NACDS membership. We look forward to his leadership as chair of NACDS.”

Three new NACDS board of directors members were also elected:

  • Andre Persaud, executive vice president and chief retail officer, Rite Aid Corporation;
  • Dain Rusk, vice president, Pharmacy, Publix Super Markets, Inc.;
  • Karen Staniforth, chief pharmacy officer, Rite Aid Corporation.

Nine NACDS board of directors members were also re-elected to three-year terms:

  • Randy Edeker, chairman and CEO, Hy-Vee Inc.;
  • Mark Griffin, president and CEO, Lewis Drug, Inc.;
  • Kirk Kaminsky, president, Pharmaceutical Solutions and Services, McKesson, representing Health Mart;
  • Chris Lane, executive vice president, Wakefern Food Corp./Shoprite;
  • Colleen Lindholz, president, Kroger Health, The Kroger Co.;
  • Bob Narveson, president and CEO, Thrifty White Pharmacy;
  • Martin Otto, chief operating officer, H-E-B;
  • Sharon Sternheim, president and CEO, Zitomer/Thriftway Drug Corp.;
  • Debbie Weitzman, president, Pharmaceutical Distribution, Cardinal Health, representing Medicine Shoppe.

Alex Gourlay, former co-chief operating officer of Walgreen Boots Alliance Inc., was elected to the NACDS honorary board. Gourlay served as NACDS chair from April 2017 to April 2018.



Comments are closed.